Exhibition Free


2/2/2024 - 2/18/2024

Tokyo Photographic Art Museum 2F Exhibition Gallery

Add Calendar


Cory Arcangel.
Drei Klavierstücke op. 11, 2009.
Single-channel video, YouTube, (optional) contemporary art venue.
Photo: Arcangel Studio.
© Cory Arcangel

This work is a reworking of Drei Klavierstücke, Op. 11 (Three Piano Pieces) (1909) by Arnold Schoenberg. It was produced by cutting, pasting, and editing together approximately 170 different downloaded Youtube videos of cats playing pianos. Schoenberg’s Op. 11 is considered the first “atonal” musical composition, or music that completely breaks from traditional western harmony by not being written in “key.” Extracting each note from videos of cats, which are far removed from the original piece, Arcangel reproduces the music through the repeated act of copying and pasting. Arcangel employs the technique of a “code-splicing hacker,” using the Internet as a material for artistic expression while creating new relationships and ways of confronting the world.

Dates: February 2 – 18, 2024, 10:00–20:00 (Until 18:00 on the final day)
Closed on Mondays [Please note the exhibition is open on Monday, February 12 but closed on Tuesday, February 13]
Venue: Tokyo Photographic Art Museum 2F Exhibition Gallery